top of page
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle

2011 : First Year of University, Introducing Myself


I started my first year at university, with a Zero year, focused on art in its many forms. Going later on to create digital art, photography (digital and film), printing on fabric and paper, creating ceramic and glass pieces too. We all began with creating an introduction of ourselves, having 4 weeks for two projects, one to create a pair of shoes to represent ourselves, and the other to show our skills when drawing, we created portraits.

Below I have added several drawings of people, including a portrait of me and some friends. While I also have a number of quick sketches from trips and walking down the street, where I have had only a couple of minutes or seconds to get the idea of the person and scene around them.

Some studies have been redone later on in textiles, lino printing, charcoal and pen. I prefer using pen and pencil to sketch on the go, I don't often sit to do this, so few materials make it much more simple. When I have prepared more materials its usual for me to take charcoal, chalk, crayons, fine-liners and so on that can be a little messy but get results for quick drawing.

Mother and Child, walking past me, I like the flow of the fabric.
Mintue sketches on the go, I loved the angel of the elderly lady walking, but it was very hard to draw.

A portrait of friends having a good time. I like the contrast of face shapes, angles and their differ reaction at a moment.

On the go minute sketches of old men, I focused men with hats and women at different angles.

Recreating a sketch of a skirt and rain coat on bubble wrap, using the thread as line work, detail and shading.

Multimedia, textile portraits, with thread, glittery chiffon and net to provide body and texture.

Recreating a sketch on the right, by using net, white chiffon scrap and thread with some charcoal on the actual fabric to add colour detail, and shading.

Lastly, here is a self portrait, done in 1 minutes, building on a half minute sketch of the face and  body with ink. Adding only a little bit of colour.

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page